Treasures of Time

My husband and I discovered we both have feelings for fossils. Awe!

As a child I dug up plenty of treasures in our backyard. At one time the area had been used as a dump. I found many interesting things. Some odd formed rocks, hunks of broken colored glass, and unusual bottle caps. I never found anything of any value, but enjoyed showing off what I had found.

Several days ago while in Ann Arbor, Mi. our search for a unique birthday gift wasn’t found. We couldn’t locate the store and had forgotten the name. we discovered another shop we hadn’t ever visited. It was filled with all sorts of natural items, such as crystals, gem stones, jewelry, fossils, and home decorations created from natural materials, some from a different era.

We didn’t find that special birthday gift we had searched for, but we did find two ancient decorations for our bathroom shelf, and I do mean ancient, one is over fifty million years old and the second, sixty five million.

Up to this point I’d been looking for dragonfly related items. I spent a long time in front of one display case reading informational tags. When I looked for my husband a bit later, he was at that case reading the same thing I had. I joined him and we made a couple of decisions. I felt especially drawn to the fish, until I saw the Ammonite. We couldn’t decide which one we wanted and ended up buying both.

The one called Knightia, (Nye-tee-ah) a prehistoric fish from North America, is an ancestor of today’s herring and sardine. It was one of many found in Wyoming, therefore it wasn’t expensive. I feel honored to have this reminder of historic times in my home. We thought this fossil would fit well into our decor in the bathroom even though it isn’t a dragonfly.

Knightia

Knightia

The Knightia fossil appears to glimmer bronze, and the fact that fish are known to eat dragonflies and dragonflies have survived over 300 million years, I felt made them the perfect partners on my shelf to keep with the theme. Ha! My likes always find away.

 

 

The other fossil we purchased is an Ammonite. This one was found in the Sahara Desert, Morocco. This squid-like creature lived inside a coil shaped shell and ate small fish and crustaceans in shallow seas. It could grow up to three feet. The one below is about the size of my open hand. This fossil dates back to the Devonian Period to the Cretaceous period 410-65 million years ago.  This predator became extinct about the same time the dinosaurs did.

Ammonite Closed

Ammonite Closed

Ammonite opened

Ammonite opened

 

 

 

 

 

Ammonite means “Ammon’s stone: named after the ram-horned Egyptian god (Amun) of the sky, air and wind. (and there’s my dragonfly connection) Works for me! Now just to figure out the best way to display this lovely piece of history.

It’s a good thing I’m not a serious theme person . . . or maybe, I’m ultra serious? Hmmm, either way, I love having both pieces in my home. I will treasure them and what they stand for in the creation and history of our fascinating world.

Here’s the link to the store in Ann Arbor    Four Directions (Gifts from Around the World.)

 

Next blog: My new book, a memoir, my sharing of signs from the Universe is complete and the website is almost done. More on that soon, I promise!

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Fossils

One response to “Treasures of Time

  1. kathy

    I love your ancient finds. I had no knowledge of either piece but now know a little about each one. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

