Flint Institute of Arts (FIA)

If you live in Michigan or are here for a visit and haven’t been to the Flint Institute of Arts, (FIA) I highly recommend the experience.

Since my husband and I enjoyed this museum greatly and couldn’t decide which were our favorite works, we’ve decided to return for another visit soon.

(*Note, if you click on any of the links I’ve shared, please hit the back arrow to return to this page.)

Dale Chihuly‘s (link to images of his work) Persian Chandelier greets and welcomes everyone upon entrance to the FIA. It’s composed of 128 blown glass elements, which radiate vibrant rays of sun through a formation of large flower blooms that hang in the entry way skylight. The giant bursts of colors, burnt oranges, yellow’s and golds resembling  poppies waving in a breeze, beckon you inward to discover more of the unique talents and creations within.

I could have sworn I saw a certain metal sculpture move. After watching for a few moments, I realized, it did move, but by observation it wasn’t obvious how. It was mysterious and fabulous.

There were several sculptures from marble. My favorite was of a young girl posed in a dance position, lifting the bottom edge of her dress as if she would go into a spin any second. Her facial expression, soft, sweet, and filled with joy. Her dress had the appearance of a thin cottony fabric and looked wispy upon her delicate body. I expected layers and ruffles of the fabric to move as I passed by. I wanted to touch, and prove to myself that the dress upon Alberto Cambi’s “Dancing Maiden” was truly carved from stone. (I didn’t. Being married to an artist has taught me a few things.)  Absolutely stunning work! I can’t wait to visit her again.

On one hand, I found several pieces to be so realistic that they disturbed me, but on the other hand, I was memorized by them. One artwork  was of an older man’s over sized face and upper body captured somewhere between the second and third dimension. He was somehow fixed in a see-through case that hung on a wall. I could hardly look at him for over a few seconds. His porous skin and shiny eyes seemed to follow me about the room. I  took another glimpse over my shoulder at him to make sure he stayed put. He did! Whew!  How could an artist create this so lifelike, human face, and my next question was-why? It was both amazing, creepy, and absolutely brilliant at the same time. I absolutely adore museums.

Another piece that left me in awe and a bit weirded out, was the, High School Student by Duane Hanson . It is a life-like sculpture of a young man, with his back  leaned against the wall, his right leg crossed over the left, holding a book at his side, his other hand dangled free. His sandy blond hair a bit mussed. His stance portrayed the confidence of a good-looking, popular high schooler. His gaze aimed a bit downward making me wonder what he was thinking. This student wore a button down lightweight shirt, tattered denim jeans, and tennis shoes. When my husband caught up with me, I asked him if that kid was real? He even did a double take before answering with, “No I don’t think so.” Amazing and Creepy all at once. Such unique art, immense talent, and definite entertainment, all combined. Wow! It was a fabulous afternoon.

The Tiffany piece below with its vivid colored glass drew me in to this lovely place, even if for only a few moments, it was serene and filled with light, love and peace.

A Legacy of Giving

A Legacy of Giving

A Louis Comfort Tiffany

1 Comment

Filed under Flint Institute of Arts

One response to “Flint Institute of Arts (FIA)

  1. It has been years since I visited the Museum and because you have written so brilliantly about it, it’s time I returned. Thanks Mel for the tip
    Gloria

    Like

Leave a Reply

