I’m Back!

Hello Everyone,

I apologize my couple of weeks turned into a couple of months. Summer has a way of rushing by especially if you are extra busy. I’ll admit I’ve done some fun summer things like, spend time on the water fishing, boating, and picnicking with friends and family. I attended our annual ladies retreat at the Shipshewana flea market and several graduation parties, all very fun.

IMG_1887 (640x445)

Shipshewana IN

True Love

True Love

2015 reunion

Family Reunion

 

 

 

 

 

 

But, believe it or not . . .  I managed to accomplish quite a bit of work too. I’ve been editing and going over proofs for the past six weeks for a soon-to-be book release for another author. The book is about a subject that is close to my heart, coincidence, signs, spiritual moments, and figuring out ones life purpose. The author, well you could say she is a kindred spirit or maybe even me in a past life, or she could be an identical twin I never knew I had, or possibly, she is me with a “nom de plume,” or “nom de guerre,” or pseudonym? Gosh, I love words!

If you guessed the last one, you would be correct and your next question may be; why would anyone go through all that work and then publish a book under  an alias name? There are as many answers for this question as there are authors who do it.

Authors who switch genre’s sometimes change their name as to not confuse their fan base. (e.g. Nora Roberts-J.D. Robb)  Or a children’s writer who switches to a work for adults and wants to keep the identities separate. (e.g. J.K. Rowling-Robert Galbraith)   Others do it to remain anonymous to their family and friends, and yet another example is a man writing a romance may take on a woman’s name or a woman taking a man’s name when writing science fiction because they think  the preference of an editor or agent (or readers) will bring their work more attention and success by doing this.

I wanted to share with my friends, family, and any of my faithful followers  first on this blog the rationale for my pseudo/alias.  I had never thought about using anything but my birth name in any of my work, but as I have learned along this (writing/life’s) journey there are many reasons for the original plan to change, and more than likely, it will and when it does, I’ve also learned I have to pay attention.

I can use several of the above mentioned reasons for taking on another name; I’ve considered myself a children’s writer, but this book is for adults. I wanted to protect the privacy of all those wonderful people and places I’ve named in the book that have created life changing moments for me, or the truth of the matter is…when I contacted many of the people or business’s for legal documentation (a notarized permission slip) to use their names, photo’s, quotes, or business’s, in my book, they didn’t respond after weeks of attempts. This is when I decided to use the option of a pseudo to move forward with the book publishing.

I discovered trying to come up with a new author name is not as easy as I thought it would be. I’ll save how I finally renamed myself for a later blog post.

That’s all I can tell you right now, but stay tuned for more information and a new recommended website to visit soon.

I hope you are enjoying your summer and as always you have my sincere gratitude for reading and sharing my words.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Pseudonym

3 responses to “I’m Back!

  1. jan

    I look forward to it. Let me know!

    Like

  2. Judy Karpinski

    I can’t wait to read the book.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  3. You really know how to travel through your life!

    Like

Leave a Reply

