Inspiration & Surprises

Inspiration

Yesterday someone asked where I find the inspiration for all the writing I do. After a few minutes of thought the answer came easy. I’m inspired to write about the things I see, feel, and experience. If I feel the need to write it down, then to me, that is my inspiration.

When I began my writing courses and going to conferences, they said write what you know and what excites you. I found the first part discouraged me because I thought, what do I know? My mom would often say, “I know a little about a lot of things but I don’t  know much about anything.” The solution – research.

The Big Surprise

It seemed I liked to write about insects and crawly things. Really! Me writing about bugs seemed about as far-fetched as it could get. Regardless, these squirmy inspirations kept coming.

During my  first course I wrote an article about dragonflies. It was inspired by a camping trip shared with a friend and her children along with mine. There was a phenomenal dragonfly hatch. I mean hundreds zigzagged everywhere at different heights, flashing their lovely colors. The air hummed with their vibrations. It was an extremely entertaining and inspiring event, one that none of us will ever forget.  I’ve loved dragonflies ever since this incident and have so far written a picture book and several poems about them.

Dragonfly

Dragonfly

 

 

 

 

 

The next bug I was inspired to write about was the Saddleback Caterpillar, the largest slug caterpillar in the nation. I titled the original article, Cowboy Caterpillar, because it  looks like it has a lovely lime green  tattoo of a saddle on its back. This seems so cute, but beware, it also has needle-sharp spines that carry a venom that is quite painful to humans and can cause swelling, rash, and vomiting. My son was stung by one at work while clearing away some brush  by the tracks. This turned into an article because I wanted to share the information with others as a warning.

Beware!

Beware!

 

 

 

 

 

Bedbugs, believe it not was my next article. Yuck and eww! The interest in these little buggers was brought on by chaperoning a sixth grade camp and as we found out later, one of the cabins was infested. Several children complained of bites, itching, and had red swollen dots in a pattern of three. All five boys that complained were bunked in the same cabin. This once again turned into a non-fiction article about what to do if this happens to you.

Ekkkk!

Ekkkk!

 

 

 

 

 

 

My latest project has gotten away from insects but still connects with nature and all the beauty that it shares with us. When we open our eyes, minds, and hearts, and pay attention, I believe it’s possible to find the path to our destiny’s.

My present book is inspired by mere coincidence. Oh, that’s right, there’s no such thing as coincidence and that was something that surprised me and I hope it does you too. (More on this soon)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration, writing

Leave a Reply

