My Weekend Visit & Writing Retreat

My aunt and uncle

My aunt and uncle

On my way to a writing retreat I stopped in Battle Creek and enjoyed a wonderful visit with my aunt and uncle who I don’t see often enough. We had a lovely lunch and caught up on our families and upcoming events.

 

After our meal, I picked up two fun fabulous ladies that were headed to the same writing retreat that I was. We introduced ourselves and were on our way to new friendships and adventures that involved unique and complicated characters, lyrical scenes, twisted plots, diverse lifestyles, some rootin tootin fun language, and lots of belly laughs.

We met up with the other four writers already at the lodge. They welcomed us with open arms and a delicious dinner of pulled pork, mashed potatoes, rolls, and roasted fresh vegetables.

The Place

Eagles Wings Lodge in Ludington, MI. is spacious, fully furnished to every detail, and decorated to magazine perfection. The walls and cabinetry were a bright knotty pine, log-like railings led to the many bedrooms upstairs. There was a large fireplace for heat and ambiance along with attractive light fixtures throughout. It had the feel and warmth of a loving home, not of a rental place. The scenery created a calm, whether viewed from the large windows overlooking the hillside or through the heated mist that rose from the hot tub on the back deck.

Open Areas

One of four bathrooms

Writing Makes Us Hungry

The Take Away!

I can’t speak for everyone, but for me retreats are about . . .

1.) Meeting people who have the same passion(s) as I do.

2.) It excites me to interact and learn from those who have more experience and knowledge regarding the process and technique.

3.) Flip-flop #2, It makes me proud of how far I’ve come when I’m able to share what I’ve learned with those who have less or different experience(s).

4.) Every writing event I’ve ever been to (with the exception of one) boosted my enthusiasm, motivation & creativity.

5.) The feed back, critiques, and brainstorming on my work is so valuable to me during the revision process. Sometimes I use the suggestions and sometimes not, but either way it takes me to that place outside of my own thought box. I’m so appreciative to all of the amazing ladies I spent this past weekend with and their inspiring  input and presence.

6.)  I always consider it an honor when other writers allow me to read their work. I know and understand how difficult it is to share our vulnerable, intimate thoughts and words with others, especially strangers. Every story and every genre has a piece of its author within, and that makes it personal . . . personal to the extreme.

I can’t fail to thank all of you for the lip-licking, terrific homemade meals, snacks, and beverages that I devoured. But I have to admit my all time favorite was learning how to give myself permission to drink from the warm bubbly butter cup (if there’s any left) after a lobster meal.  Lobster flavored butter! What could be better? Have they marketed that yet?

My greatest gratitude goes to Monica for organizing this special event and inviting me along. I so enjoyed the camaraderie and the extraordinary talents of every attendee.

This writing retreat is on my five-star all time favorite list.

4 Comments

Filed under Writing Retreat

4 responses to “My Weekend Visit & Writing Retreat

  1. K. Adamus

    How fun… stop and visit with relatives and then on to a fun-filled weekend/retreat. I agree with you, it is always nice to meet new people. Glad you had a great time.

    Like

    • Thanks K. It’s been awhile since I’ve gotten out and met new people. This was a fun, entertaining, and a multi-talented group to hang out with for the weekend. I learned, shared, and laughed out-loud. Great time!

      Like

  2. Christine Na'imah

    What a wonderful description!! It was exactly as you said. ❤ Beautiful words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

