Don’t Forget About Your Accomplishments

Acknowledging Your Own Accomplishments is as important as setting new goals. I hope if you haven’t done this that you’ll give it a try. You may have accomplished more than you thought.

You need only to look

You need only to look

 

 

 

 

Ten years ago I discovered how important it was for me to recognize my accomplishments from the previous year before moving on.

My first writing group had a rule that with our January submissions, each of us had to include our previous years accomplishment list and add writing goals for the present year.

Embarrassment was my first thought. I hadn’t published any books and had only received rejects on the articles I had submitted at that time. I knew most of the people in my group were published authors and I was the newbie.  My list would look awful next to all of theirs.

My mind was as blank as the page in front of me. Heck, sometimes I can’t remember what I ate yesterday.

I typed the year that had just passed at the top and then the number one followed by my proudest accomplishment, diploma from the Institute of Children’s Literature Course. I stopped and thought for a long while. I wrote down the titles of every short story and poem I’d written in that year. I listed the titles of several articles I’d submitted to magazines, (It didn’t matter if they were accepted or not). I had entered three writing contests, attended two writing conferences, and joined the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI).

I had forgotten about all those accomplishments until I’d checked my writing log and calendar.

I submitted my list with pride and promised myself I’d do even better the coming year.

Yes I did!

Yes I did!

 

 

 

 

 

Even though this group no longer exists, this annual January journal entry has become my tradition and it has never failed to give me that . . . “I Can Do It,” attitude. This keeps me motivated and working towards all of the goals I’ve set for myself in the new year.

Love many things, for therein lies the true strength, and whosoever loves much performs much, and can accomplish much, and what is done in love is done well.

Vincent Van Gogh

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Accomplishments

One response to “Don’t Forget About Your Accomplishments

  1. Mel, congratulations on ALL your accomplishments, writing and otherwise! The quote is perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

