My Writing Works In Progress

For those of you who have inquired about what I’ve been working on…here’s my book writing update.

Holler’s Pond, A Camping Story (middle grade-ages 11-15)

(Four young teens, one girl, three boys, some adventures, self acceptance issues, each teen believes their problems are worse than their peers)

A family camping trip gets screwed up for Alexandria(Alex) when she finds out her best friend can’t make it. Now she is stuck all weekend with three teenage boys who don’t want her there or she could always hang with the adults. With those choices, she will find a way to deal with the boys. She has no doubt she can out camp and out fish any boy, anytime. Bring it on!

It’s a weekend packed full of pranks, some bullying, throw in a few laughs and an encounter or two with wild animals and an outhouse and you never know what will happen. In the end the teens are forced to make a life or death decision and begin to understand what’s truly important in their lives.

This manuscript has been sent to several publishing houses. It’s been rejected twice, one has it under consideration. Still waiting to hear something. I’m thinking positive. 2015 feels like a great year for publishing books.

This Sign Is Mine is a working title. (non-fiction, young adult-adult inspirational) 

I wrote this memoir over the summer with a strong desire to share my strange phenomena experiences and to inspire others.

The story is about as deep down personal as one can get. There have been several strong, slap-me-in-the-face, signs/messages along my journey. I’ve received answers to questions that could not be reversed once implemented and felt more confident than I’ve ever felt in my life.

During those occurrences, there was always one question that ran through my mind, who was the messenger? I’ve shared bits and pieces on my blogs, but decided it was time to write the story behind the pictures.

Were my signs all coincidence? Were they from God, the Universe, deceased loved ones, or someplace else? Was I the only one who saw or felt them? Not always. Did others receive the same message I did? After discussion I found the answer to be yes, on occasion.

With all my questions, the one thing I have figured out for sure is, these crazy signs have led me to a gratefulness and an inner peace I didn’t think possible during and after those specific circumstances.

This book is written in a way where you, the reader can decide for yourself if these signs were only coincidence. If you don’t think so, where do you think they came from? Have you recognized any signs along your journey?

It is not my place to doubt the sincere beliefs of others.
My job is to question my own beliefs.
– Jonathan Lockwood Huie

Will I Ever Grow Up (picture book)

This book is about a minuscule insect nymph that lives beneath the water. She eats anything that doesn’t eat her and is still hungry. She grows a tiny bit and pops out of her skin. There’s always a new skin beneath the old one. This process continues to make her hungry so she eats some more and the process repeats and repeats. She’s discouraged when she doesn’t notice any change in herself. But, her neighbors the tadpole family have changed by leaps and bounds. Will she ever grow up? What will she be? I’ll reveal the answer next week.

I’m ready to do the final draft on this too.

If only there were more hours in a day.

My goals are high for 2015

Thanks for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the shares.

2 Comments

Filed under Author

2 responses to “My Writing Works In Progress

  1. George Moore

    This will be one outstanding book. Having your goals high, is how it should. Wishing you much success.

    Like

Leave a Reply

