The Historic Durand Union Station

Choo Choo

Choo Choo

I’ve only taken a train ride twice in my life. Once, while I was in Girl Scouts to Lansing and a more recent trip was to Chicago with a friend. Both great experiences. Oops, forgot one. There were several rides within Greenfield Village.

As an adult, my favorite part is, no driving stress. A close second is, it’s an inexpensive way to travel, see examples below. You can get up and move around on a train or read, play cards, maybe have a snack or a drink and the baggage doesn’t seem to be problem. I find the rumble of the train on the rails soothing and comfortable. And when I travel, I try not to be in a hurry. So, I would say this is a perfect fit for me.

Oh yes, I see more train travels in my near future, especially since this lovely historic train station with its museum is only a few short minutes from our summer cottage.

Here are a few ticket prices that depart out of DUS. (Amtrak-Blue Water)

Durand to Chicago(Union Station)-round trip-$49.00
Durand to Battle Creek-round trip-$17.00
Durand to Kalamazoo-round trip-$23.00

Within the photos below is a quick bit of Durand Train Station history I found interesting and thought maybe you would too.

This station has a ballroom and conference room for rent. Maybe someday I’ll plan a party here. The museum is packed with information, pictures, documents, and replica’s of many items, all brilliantly displayed.

Durand Union Station

Durand Union Station

IMG_2465 (640x480)

Waiting Area

Waiting Area

Ticket Booth

Ticket Booth

With Modern Conveniences

With Modern Conveniences

All Aboard

All Aboard

2 Comments

Filed under Durand Union Station

2 responses to “The Historic Durand Union Station

  1. That’s a great deal to Chicago! Ready when you are!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carol Simmons

    Howdy – regarding train stations, there is an old one in Niles, which is a stop on the way to Chicago via Amtrak. It is a neat old station too. I agree, riding on the train is very relaxing. I don’t like to travel much, but it is a handy way to get somewhere.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

