More Than A Tidbit, From One of the Greats!

RESEARCH

There isn’t much else on my mind these days besides research, morning, noon, and night. I’m either reading or writing or running scenes through my mind.

My past weeks work included reading several books on writing essays and reading memoirs by and about a diverse group of people.

Some, well most of these books were dry and unmemorable, except one. I read them with the expectation of how I used to read parenting books. I was always thrilled to take away even one tidbit of an idea to help me somehow in someway through a present struggle. It’s the same with writing books. Since every person is different and every story personal, there can’t be just one book that suits all authors and their individual questions. That must be why I have at least fifty writing books above my desk. You’d think I would be a better writer, but as I say, “I’m an infinite work in progress.”

THE BEST ONE YET ****

The book I finished last night shocked me, inspired me, made me cry, and to my utter surprise made me laugh out loud more than once. And the best part was it made sense to me. Click, the light bulb went on! “YAY!” I love when that happens.

And to think this was the dreaded book I had saved until last, because the author and his gazillion novels scare the bejeebers out of me.

BETTER LATE THAN NEVER

The book is titled, “Stephen King (a memoir of the craft)On Writing,” Published in the year 2000,

It’s the combination of his personal memoir along with the added bonus of not just one, but a treasure-trove of ideas for the serious writer to try. He says, “Most books about writing are filled with bullshit . .  . I figured the shorter the book, the less bullshit.”  He was point-on and managed to make it a quick read with logical usable information.

I agreed with  many of Stephen King’s writing opinions on the assorted topics and found this book to be an awesome read, (even if you are not a writer). I was only scared a tiny bit.

MY TAKE AWAY-suggestions by Stephen King

“If you don’t have the time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write.”  I agree with him.

Own “Strunk And White, The Elements of Style,” and use it! (I do)

Set a daily writing goal of at least 1000 words, working your way up.(S.K.’s is 5000)

Write at least six days a week

First draft with the door closed, no phone, no interruptions

Keep an Ideal Reader in mind (I.R.)(S.K.’s is his wife)

Focus on the importance of language

***This book will be returned to the library as soon as my copy of “On Writing,” arrives. The great examples of differences in the first draft and second draft with its edits are something I would like to have on my desk for future reference.

 

Any writers out there want to share their favorite writing books and why? Please email me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under book review, writing

6 responses to “More Than A Tidbit, From One of the Greats!

  1. Nancy Lawson Miller

    I’m not a writer, but I love Stephen King.

    Like

  2. Hi Meline, Sounds like you’re working very hard! I love your line about some of the memoirs not being at all memorable 🙂 Glad you hit on the right writing book for you! I think the one I’ve used the most is Plot and Structure by James Scott Bell. After I heard him speak, I had to get it.

    Like

    • I’ll add James Scott Bells book to my list to read. Thanks for the book suggestion and the comment. Hope things are going well for you and your writing. I’m enjoying your Titanic blogs.

      Like

  3. Maryjo Maffessoli

    *Hi Meline,* *Are you still at your cabin? If so I envy you because it is currently 98 degrees Heat Index here in Wyandotte–VERY humid!! My best books for writing are Strunk & White, and one called “Writing Down the Bones,” (I think; I don’t have it any more but I used it a lot when I ran writing groups because it has writing exercises that are freeing and make you break away from regular writing patterns). Hope to see you again sometime, Maryjo*

    Like

Leave a Reply

