What Do You Call It?

Remembering

What Do You Call It

What Do You Call It?

 

This toy’s popularity is always on the rebound and seems to come back hotter than its previous visit. It may have a different name, color, or an odd shape at its end, but it keeps reappearing for each generation. I understand why. Plain and simple, it makes people smile and laugh out loud.

This is a fancy one I discovered in a store in Shipshewanna. Seeing it on the shelf brought back a rush of childhood memories.

What fun I had with a similar toy as a child. It had the same concept, except mine didn’t light up and had a red bell shape at the end of the plastic rope.  I spent hours trying to break my own record along with challenging friends to do different tricks, like skipping backwards, or using the opposite foot.

Back then my record was in the hundreds. As of yesterday, challenged by my granddaughter, my record is thirty and I needed an Epsom Salts bath. I’ll have to work on that! It can be my new aerobics program. Hey, it’s for ages six and up. I can do this!

Same Toy Different Name

Well, if you call it a, Footsie, Lemon Twist, Jingle Jump or a Skip-a-Roo, you are as young as I am. The Footsie toy being the original released in the early sixties and was popular through the early seventies.

A company called Chem Toy patented the Lemon Twist in 1975.

It sort of left us until the nineties when it was re-introduced through Nickelodeon ads as the Skip It. They added a counter and it was referred to by some as retro.

Time Magazine listed Skip It in their All-Time 100 Greatest Toys back in 2011.

Presently, Toy’s R Us sells a version called, Twister Rave Skip-It (a spin-off of Twister) sells for around twenty dollars. You challenge yourself to light sequences. Once you stop, the Skip-It resets.

What toys do you remember from your childhood? Are they still around?

More Information

If you are interested in this toy or others, you can visit this awesome site,  Mortal Journey.

 

 

6 Comments

August 27, 2014 · 3:26 pm

6 responses to “What Do You Call It?

  1. barri

    Your blog always makes me smile:)

    Like

  2. kathy

    I love this. Haven’t seen one of these for years. If I tried it today, I’m sure I would hurt myself pretty bad. Lol

    Like

  3. This is interesting…I have never heard of it or seen it before!!

    Like

  4. I think I use to have one of these when I was a kid.

    Like

Leave a Reply

