Fabulous Fun Day in Ohio

Ohio, More Than Cedar Point

When people have mentioned the state of Ohio in the past, I’ve gotten a vision of flat land, corn fields, football rivals, and Cedar Point. Until recently, I thought Ohio was a state to drive through to reach other places.

I didn’t know there were such great destinations as Fort Meigs with all its Americana history and not to far away, Grand Rapids, Ohio with its lovely park, canoe/kayak rentals, a dam, fishing, and our discovery of a fabulous memorable restaurant called LaRoe’s .

The Fourth of July 

We spent Independence Day among cannon fire, billowing smoke of musket shots, seven blockhouses, grave markers, and a museum all located within the wooden walls of Fort Meigs in a city that is now known as, Perrysburg Ohio.

This experience truly ignites ones patriotism all the way to the soul or it did mine. After reading the posters throughout the fort and learning about the lives our ancestors struggled through, I realized I had just walked over the same grounds where many of them had lost their lives, either from battle or disease. A shiver ran the length of my spine, my eyes filled with tears of pride for our country and for the people who fought over 200 years ago for our freedom.

A Tiny Bit Of History

The ground breaking for Fort Meigs began in the winter of 1812 being built on a bluff overlooking the Maumee River Rapids. It was complete in 1813, right on time for the first British attack. This fort underwent two sieges, both victories.  The fort was built under the command of General William Henry Harrison.  This man later became our nations president, (unfortuantly, dying a month into office from pneumonia). For more historical information click here, Fort Meigs.

Grand Rapids in Ohio

Unlike Grand Rapids, Michigan, Ohio actually has rapids, along with the rushing waters of a dam, a park, and a hiking trail. I wore comfortable shoes, carried my bottle of water and brought sun screen. The only thing I wished I would have brought was my fishing rod.

Of course all this outdoor activity brought on hunger pangs, which was not a problem. There were plenty of places to eat. We decided to have our meal outside and picked a place with a patio over looking the canal. People passed by us in colorful rented canoes, kayaks, and on paddle boards.

The food we enjoyed was amazing. I had the baby-back ribs with a sauce to write a blog about-yummy, and my husband had a black Angus burger, juicy and cooked to perfection along with some sweet potato fries that we shared. I had never had these fries served with hot melted cinnamon butter and I will never eat them with honey mustard again. Everything got a five-star rating from us. The day was fun, the food was fabulous and all was certainly worth the driving time.

So when you are searching for something out of the ordinary to do, check out the fort and when you get hungry I highly recommend, LaRoe’s of Grand Rapids Ohio, We will visit again . . . soon.

Note: My next post may run a bit late next week and will be about my vacation at Virginia Beach.

Thanks for visiting my blog and enjoy these lovely warm summer days.

One Of Seven Block Houses

One Of Seven Block Houses

Canon

Canon

Tombstone Memorial

Tombstone Memorial

Block Houses

Block Houses

Perrysburg, Ohio

Perrysburg, Ohio

Dragonfly Bench

Dragonfly Bench

Path Along The Water

Path Along The Water

Fishing at the Dam

Fishing at the Dam

Leave a comment

Filed under Discovering Ohio

Leave a Reply

