Our Sunken Dock

Our sunken dock sounds a bit classy, maybe like a sunken garden, a kitchen, or sunken wine cellar?  Not Quite! There is nothing classy about it. It’s more like trashy.

Our Memorial Weekend at the Lake-House

We pulled in the driveway around 8:30 pm.

The spectacular sunset was in full progress.

Our new front porch solar lights winked on to welcome us.

Our fire pit was stacked with wood and ready to burn.

Cold beverages were chilled and calling our name. Yep, life is good in this bountiful country we live in.

(An extra Thank you to all U.S. Veterans this past Memorial Weekend and everyday.)

After unloading we grabbed some drinks and stepped out onto the deck. It is my favorite view. Across from our deck I see a variety of bright green leaves of various sizes indicating spring is in full bloom.  The geese are honking, ducks are landing, dragonflies are hatching, frogs have begun to sing. All of this causing my eyes to fill and my heart to swell with immense gratitude. I glance over to my husband to see if he is feeling the same way. He is staring down the hill, toward our dock, tight lipped, scrunched face. My eyes follow his squinted stare.

“Aren’t the fish supposed to be swimming below the dock, not over the dock,” he says shaking his head.

I gasp. It was two weekends ago my husband and I propped the dock posts on fitted cement blocks below the water. We had assumed the frozen lake shifted the posts causing the wooden 4 x 4’s to move off of the blocks.  He is such an early riser and was out in the water way before I got up. When he saw me standing on the deck he said he could use some help . . . so, I put on my crocks and went in the frigid water to help him . . .  even before a cup of coffee.  (And no –  he will never hear the end of it-before coffee-come-on-seriously). Anyway,  we were proud of what we had accomplished on that trip.  All four corners were now above water. It could use some paint sometime this summer and other than that it was a fine looking dock.

This trip, we were stumped. We had expected the water to get lower, not higher. Besides the dock being lopsided for a second time, it is now entirely submerged, it’s not functional, and is an eye-sore.

We  enjoyed a roaring fire and the star filled sky.  But, I’m sure my husband was thinking all along about how to raise the dock, replace the dock, fix the dock, make it into a floating dock or maybe he was thinking, we could burn the darn thing . Yep, he had a busy mind and likes to get things done-now. I had already warned him I wasn’t getting in that water before my morning coffee and walk. The next day the sun was shining and he decided to join me on the path.

During our walk  we discovered our dock wasn’t the only one with problems. The lake had rose so high it was even with the walking path and over it in some lower areas. Fish look a bit odd swimming between tender young blades of grass and hiding beneath the yellow blooms of dandelions. The majority of the docks in the resort were under water and or damaged worse than ours. The owners said it was the worst flooding they had in twelve years due to the large amount of snow and torrential storms in the past couple of weeks.

Later that day and the next, my husband was once again in the murky water doing what he could to get the dock level, not caring if it was still beneath the water. The dock was almost floating and he was able to move the cement blocks beneath the posts without my help. The dock is a bit higher now, level once again, and we spotted some dry areas on it before we left Monday morning.

The owners are supposed to drain some of the water from the lake on Wednesday, which makes me wonder if our dock will shift again or will it settle directly onto the cement blocks that are below each of  the posts? Of course they will line up!

Thinking positive!

All in all we enjoyed a wonderful three day sunshine-filled  weekend. With only two not-so-good things. The sunken dock and a found leech between someone’s toes. (hint: not mine) EWWWW!

Both docks under

Sunken Docks

Fish swimming over

Fish swimming over

See my husband?

Can you find my husband?

Yay, Dry Areas

Yay, Dry Areas

One more cast

One more cast

IMG_1727 (640x480)

Fabulous Fire and Fun

 

4 Comments

Filed under Docks, Holiday Shores Resort, Spring

4 responses to “Our Sunken Dock

  1. Carol Simmons

    Meline-perhaps your dock troubles go back to the original structure and the kind of wood from which it was made. You are supposed to use hickory, as in hickory, dickory dock! Bet you didn’t know that

    Like

  2. Maryjo Maffessoli

    *Hi Meline,* *My friend and I went to the Scarab Club yesterday and looked at EVERYTHING in the building. Tell Mitch he put on a good show. These are the standouts for me: Under the Dock (lovethe white/green/violet/turquoise), Winter in Elizabeth Park (perfect), Piquette Street Fire (painting continues on sides of canvas), and my favorite Solitude (wonderful glowing late afternoon light on windows and carpet, lovely rendering of the very room the exhibit is in!). Let me know of any future exhibitions, Maryjo*

    Like

Leave a Reply

