My First Poetry Reading

Total Health Foods has added a poetry reading night to their calendar. It’s held every other Thursday from 8 to 10 pm in-between the store and the juice bar.

It is not unusual for me to be in my Pj’s and curled up on the sofa by that time, but after several months of seeing flyers and receiving emails for this event, it had ignited my curiosity.

I thought it would be interesting to go and listen sometime, maybe meet some local writers.  Only after much contemplation and yawning I decided to forego the jammies last Thursday evening, and am thrilled I did.

My husband scared me a bit talking the  beatniks  of the late fifties, sixties and seventies and their loud colorful ways of poetic expression . . .  but I thought, what the heck, quit wondering and check it out.

I don’t consider myself a poet, although I thoroughly enjoy writing poems along with reading poetry books. I have written several that have mostly written themselves. They did not give me a choice. Two of them woke me in the middle of night.  I chose two of these poems to take to the reading, even though I had no intention of sharing them.

My thinking was to go, sit in the back, and listen for a while, and if I felt uncomfortable I would sneak out early. Little did I know that I would be the first one there and almost the last one to leave.

There were a few surprises in-store for me.

My first surprise was that I was the only woman there until almost the end. Bridgette, the person who usually leads the group, was out-of-town and had asked Chico to sub for her. He was happy to do so and was a perfect choice with his outgoing, friendly personality making everyone feel welcome and comfortable.

My second surprise was after I introduced myself, Chico asked what kind of poetry I liked to write. Of course that discussion led to my writing for Family, Fish and Game and how I loved to write about the outdoors. He asked if I hunted or fished which led him to say with excited recollection, “I don’t fish much anymore, but me and some buddies used to go to this amazing place up north. We caught tons of fish.”

“Where?” I asked.

You already know the answer, right? My beloved Fletcher’s Pond.

Once again, there was my sign. I knew I was in the right place at the right time and was meant to meet these people. I told him he may enjoy my novel, HOLLER’S POND when it’s published. The middle grade story actually takes place at Fletcher’s Pond. By this time several more people had arrived and when we were all introduced, the readings began.

I loved that it was a small group and so laid-back, no pressure to read or share. This was the perfect poetry reading night for me, the first timer. They encourage people to bring a poetry book from home if you want to share your favorite poems.

I felt more than welcome to sit and listen to Chico read his prose about growing up by Tiger Stadium, all the sounds, scents, lights, and a little boys imagination. Then Frank read about the Sun and the Moon and the human connections. Sam and I listened, completely enthralled. When Chico asked if I wanted a turn, I shook my head but felt myself stand and move toward the podium.

I read my poems. LONG TERM GOAL and WHAT WILL I BE, both about growing up, one from a parents perspective and the other from an insect nymphs. Both received unexpected applause and curious questions. It was fun to talk about the inspirations for my writing.

I’m already looking forward to Thursday, April 17 for the Poetry Night and for my favorite treat from the juice bar. (A Mudslide. It tastes like a chocolate shake and is made with all natural  non-dairy ingredients.)

I may even write a new poem by then and someday attend a more aggressive reading. I recently heard about a Poetry Slam, not far from where I live. Hmmm!

Sure wish my poetry-writing cousin Jeanna lived closer. We could get “our brave on” together.

 

13 Comments

Filed under Poetry

13 responses to “My First Poetry Reading

  1. Pingback: My First Poetry Reading | Writing Naturally

  2. This sounds SO awesome! I got chills when I read that Chico had been to Fletchers! I’ve never been to a poetry reading- like you, I’m a little nervous. The group you went to seems to be a perfect fit. Next visit, we’ll go!

    Like

  3. Barri Szabo

    Good for you ❤ I love going to poetry night . Enjoy ~ its always fun to try new things ❤

    Like

  4. Carol Simmons

    Way to go, Meline. It takes a lot of nerve to try something different or to go somewhere you’ve never been before. I think I need a transfusion of your ‘brave’. I am contemplating becoming a hermit!

    Like

  5. I finally figured this out! lol You wonder why I think you are so amazing and I am going to tell you—–I have not got a creative ounce in my brain and to
    see someone write like you is wonderful. I have never been big on poetry
    but maybe thru you—–who knows! Your writing is like sitting talking with you. See you soon.

    Like

  6. We are very happy that you joined our group, Meline. And I too, could hardly have been more surprised to learn your book – and experience – is about Fletcher’s Pond. We loved that spot.
    Eagerly, I await to read, ” Holler’s Pond” [ wondering how you got to name it “Holler’s” ??? ]

    ….. see you soon

    Like

    • Thanks Chico, I enjoy being in the company of fellow writers. Poems have always warmed my heart and hearing them read aloud is even better or I should say more evoking of emotions.

      Like

  7. This is so cool, Meline! I’m proud of you for going. Sounds like a nice experience!

    Like

Leave a Reply

