Anything Spring-Please

Even after this record-breaking long frigid winter, I can’t imagine living in an environment where there is little or no seasonal change.

As with each new Michigan season, I am  excited to experience the first signs.

In Winter; It’s the first large wet snow flakes, and our crackling fires in the wood-stove.

In Autumn; It’s the breath-taking beauty of the trees and their vivid transformations, the sounds and scents of leaves crunching beneath my feet.

In Summer; Its being outdoors, bare feet, tank tops, long walks by the water, and fresh garden veggies.

In SPRING ;  It’s the first brave flowers, budding trees and bushes, the birds bathing in the melted snow, open windows and sprouts in the garden.

Being outside in nature has always inspired me to write. I’ve written many stories and poems having to do with the outdoors. I enjoy dabbling in poetry and do so quite often. I rarely share my poems with anyone, but since I promised last week I would-I will and here are two in honor of this long-awaited season. I hope you enjoy reading these as much as I enjoyed creating them.

These poems are parts of larger seasonal pieces I’ve written. I figured you’d only want the spring version right now and I can’t say I blame you.

Michigan Seasons (parts 1 of 4)

Spring

They sprout, they open, and almost sing

The earth surrenders

The crocus

Proclaim  it’s —- Spring

*******

Awhile back, I read about a two-word poetry challenge. I have this no-control infatuation with words and found this to be immensely fun and rewarding.

Give it try. I hope you find it as entertaining as I do. I would love to read your poem(s). Share below if you’d like.

(Pick any subject and write two words that connect/dance/flow/ together, using ten or twelve lines. No other rules. Here’s mine.)

SPRING HAS SPRUNG (parts 1 of 4)

Budding Branches

Chillin Crocus

Daffodil Dances

Gushy Grass

Pollen Puffs

Sowing Seeds

Ruthless Referees

Tilling Turf

Whopper Worms

Wrangling Robins

Bursting Blooms

Puddle Pools

WISHING EVERYONE A SPRING TO SAVOR

crocus

The Earth Surrenders

3 Comments

Filed under Spring

3 responses to “Anything Spring-Please

  1. Pingback: Anything Spring-Please | Writing Naturally

  2. Barri Szabo

    You can always make me smile…Thank you ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

