Sea Food, & Eat It!

Happy Early Birthday Dinner to me!

I added another thing to my daily grateful list;  I am so happy that I’m allergic to Goldenrod . . .  and NOT shell-fish, Thank you, thank you, thank you. 

We ventured out of our city limits and landed at Tom’s Oyster Bar in Royal Oak for what turned out to be a magnificent seafood fiesta. Lobster Fest isn’t only at Red Lobster. Ha!

Even though the temperature was above freezing, I had a shivering chill by the time we walked in the bar. Our waiter must have noticed and along with a great smile, suggested one of their famous Flaming Spanish coffees, guaranteed to warm you through, he promised. I’m quite positive I morphed into a bobble head before he finished the tally of ingredients.

To my surprise, this decadent hot drink came in a stemmed wine glass. The rim had been dipped in a liqueur and then twisted in cinnamon, nutmeg, and sugar, then  lit on fire for carmalization.  The steamy aroma rising from the glass was absolutely the best, that is… until that first sip hit my lips. This drink surpassed all of my taste-buds expectations.  I felt its slow velvety journey all the way down to my toes. Instant warmth, just as promised. Hard to believe, but this dining experience only improved from that moment.

Irish Coffee-Beware

Irish Coffee-Beware

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next came the copious appetizer of mussels that were tender and tasty. Then my order of twin lobster tails arrived, cooked to succulent perfection. (I promised my husband I would keep my yum-moaning to a minimum sound level). His entree came with three over stuffed Baja fish(cod) tacos. Both entrees were served with exceptional sides of lightly seasoned roasted  root vegetables and coleslaw.

Once we stuffed ourselves, we continued our afternoon exploring surrounding cities. The most memorable shops were in Ferndale, Mi. A small specialty store named Naka and in Birmingham Mi. Papa Joes Gourmet Market. (comparable to a Whole Foods).

My compliments and recommendations to all of the above merchants. They are all five-star in my book and made for an extraordinary enjoyable day. I have no doubt we will return.

I’m sure I’ll be yum-moaning again on March 17th, (This is a special trait that runs in my father’s family and is difficult to control when certain foods enter our mouths. It can and has been embarrassing to some people). Note-to all those relatives reading this, you know what I’m talking about.

 

irish blessingsMy wish for all of you on this St. Patrick’s Day! My Favorite Recipe-Guinness Corned Beef

 

 

 

 

Indulge

Indulge

2 Comments

Filed under Sea Food

2 responses to “Sea Food, & Eat It!

  1. Maryjo Maffessoli

    *Dear Meline,* *May the road rise to meet you* *May the wind be at you back* *May the sun shine warmly upon your face* *May the rain fall softly on your field* *And until we shall meet again* *May God hold you in the palm of his hand* *Amen* *(These are the words to the Prayer of St. Patrick which we will be singing tomorrow night at the St. Patrick Concert at St. Patrick Church–is that enough St. Patricks for you?) Your friend at the library Maryjo Maffessoli (quarter-Irish)*

    Like

  2. Have a blast at your concert. I’m so sorry I won’t be able to attend. I will be gone Fri and Sat. I don’t want to hear about any shenanigans from you or your fun-loving choir group. Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

