Christmas Music, New or Old and When?

Every year we hear Christmas tunes earlier and earlier . . .  like right after Halloween. (Groan) Personally, I prefer they waited until Thanksgiving Day,  but, I don’t let it stress me out. I’m quite adept at changing stations or sliding in a non-seasonal CD, when needed.

My families tradition has been that the Christmas music can be played after Santa comes to town at the end of the Thanksgiving Day parade. I think the jolly fellow was a couple of weeks early this year. I saw him in several places. Maybe, he heard the Christmas carols on Halloween and got  over-anxious!

I have friends and relatives that absolutely adore all the traditional songs sang by their favorite artists and never tire of them, even if the DJ plays them a gazillion times a day. When asked if they would like to hear something new, they usually shrug and say, “Why?” You know who you are! I know many others who wish  song writers would come up with a whole new line of holiday music and never EVER play the old ones again. HUMBUGS! You know who you are!

My preferences are somewhere in-between. I can listen to the same old stuff for a while, but sometimes I long for something new. I’ve found watching musical Christmas specials occasionally will have a new song or two on them.

I have to admit though, every year, I look forward to a few of the old classics by their original artist. The perfect scenario would be to hear it once or twice during the season, not everyday, or every hour. No one sings White Christmas quite like Bing, or Blue Christmas like Elvis, or Gene Autry’s  Frosty the Snowman and Rudolf the Red Nosed Reindeer. The Christmas season just wouldn’t be the same without hearing these songs by the originals.

I discovered some new Christmas songs recently, and thought I would share this article by PRNewswire.  It’s about some new holiday songs written and performed by a few well-known, hard-working, and very generous Michigan artists.

The album is titled: A Michigan Christmas of Hope and is benefiting the campaign for  No Child Forgotten.

100% of the proceeds from this album will help children who have been abandoned, abused and/or neglected in our state of Michigan through an organization called, Holy Cross Children’s Services.

After listening to these songs, I believe I have some new favorite Christmas music.

I would love to hear your opinions on the questions below?

What Christmas songs are your favorites? When do you feel is the perfect time for the media to begin playing them? Please leave your comments at the end of this post in the comment section.

Complete list of songs and musicians below CD cover

Christmas of Hope CD

  • Why On Earth – Frankie Turner and The Gentlemen Mutineers
  • Matching Snowflakes – Devin Scillian and Jill Jack
  • Love for Christmas – Quentin Dennard
  • It’s Christmas – LetricKramer
  • Run Rudolph – Silver Bullet Band and DC Drive
  • This Christmas – The Infatuations
  • Faith – Skeleton Crew
  • Our First Christmas in Love – Joey Vee Band
  • A Homeless Christmas Lullaby – Janine Sabino written by Mitch Albom
  • Wrap Yourself in Ribbon – Karen Newman and Devin Scillian
  • Christmas Cookies – Belle Islanders
  • Wandering Shepherd – Jeff Daniels, Stewart Francke and Devin Scillian
  • Grandmother’s Christmas – Michael On Fire
  • The Light of Christmas – Sweet Crystal featuring Amy Heard
  • The Prayer – Karen Newman and Corey Roberts
  • Mary (The Return from Calvary) – Mark Farner
2 Comments

Filed under Christmas Opinion

2 responses to “Christmas Music, New or Old and When?

  1. CES

    Five-year-old Grace likes holiday songs all year, so does 59-year-old Danny, so I get with the program. I don’t have a favorite, but do have two least favorites: rockin around the Christmas tree, and I saw Mommy kissing Santa Claus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

