The Giant Aloe Plant

The other day at Sam’s Club, I found myself standing in front of a  poster of a giant Aloe Plant. I’m sure I stared at it for several minutes with some crazed expression on my face. It’s funny how something suddenly triggers an all consuming memory rather you are in a public place or not.

S w o o s h . . . I was back to being a little girl and Mom telling me about the cure-all-elements of her new house plant. I remember thinking compared to her others, this one was sort of ugly. It was only a few minutes later I had burned myself on the toaster. She immediately broke off one of the points from the new plant and rubbed it on my finger. Voila! It felt much better. From that day on, her plant had many brown tips. It helped heal my childhood burns, scrapes, insect bites, and rashes. 

The table below the poster had an open container carrying the name of 100 % Natural  Miracle Aloe Cream. (88% organic-I was informed later)You know how I’m into, miracles, organics, and all natural things these days, well I picked up the tiny black spoon and slathered some lotion on the back of my hand. It had a velvety feel, clean scent, and absorbed quickly. I was impressed. Pretty soon a young lady came running around the corner to speak with me about her product. I surprised her by saying I would take the double pack before she even began her sales pitch. (It was less expensive than the lotion I purchase at the health food store and totally MOM recommended).

After a bit, the sales lady and I got into a conversation about, writing, healthy foods, and juicing. I not only left with my purchase of Miracle Aloe Cream, but also a possible editing job and several new holistic websites to check out. Definitely a happy healthy day!

Juicing continued 23 days;  I found this interesting, so thought I would share. This is the most recent annual list put out by the(non profit) Environmental Working Group.  It’s called the “Dirty Dozen” and another titled the “Clean Fifteen.” These fruits and vegetables are listed in order from the worst to the least contaminated.

(contamination caused by insecticides, which are harmful to the nervous system)

I buy anything on the dirty list from the organic section now.

Dirty Dozen   (most insecticides)                               Clean Fifteen  (least insecticides)
1 apples                                                                     1 onions
2 celery                                                                      2 sweet corn
3 sweet bell peppers                                                    3 pineapples
4 peaches                                                                   4 avocado
5 strawberries                                                             5 cabbage
6 nectarines(imported)                                                 6 sweet peas
7 grapes(including raisins and wine) OUCH!                 7 asparagus
8 spinach                                                                    8 mangoes
9 lettuce                                                                     9 eggplant
10 cucumbers                                                             10 kiwi
11 blueberries (domestic)                                             11 cantaloupe (domestic)
12 potatoes                                                                 12 sweet potatoes
                                                                                 13 grapefruit
Plus: Green beans, kale, and collard greens                   14 watermelon
                                                                                 15 mushrooms

Pink Rose Continued: The rose from my previous blog had disappeared the next day. The alley was back to being dreary.

Only two captions from readers: (Loved them) Thank you for sharing!

What goes on in the alley doesn’t stay in the alley, when Rose is watching.
                           
Thinking outside of the fence!

My story of the lone rose.

Rose had been bullied and forced through the small crack in the wooden mildewed fence. They said she would never amount to anything, but as you saw, she didn’t droop or die under the pressure. This rose had no control over being a bit of a late bloomer or what her destiny was. Did she realize her grand appearance in that dreary alley would have such a lasting purpose? Was her appearance meant to be a reminder to slow down and take notice of the beauty found in the most unlikely of places? Whatever her reason, she has now gained immortality from a photograph taken by an appreciative passerby?

She made my heart smile and she smelled good too! I’m happy I had the opportunity to make her acquaintance.

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” 
― Maya Angelou

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

