LIFE AS AN AMUSEMENT PARK, WHAT A RIDE!

The ups and downs and things coming at you from all around, the dark tunnels, bright lights, the nerves, laughter, and tears.  I get off one ride and in line for another, determined to have courage and conquer all of my  fears.——Well, at least for today.

The Merry-go-round

I’m half way through the novel writing course at the  Institute of Children’s Literature. (ICL)
I have sent in the first third of my novel, roughed, second third, roughed, and due February 9, 2013 is the final third, rough. Now the fun begins, the rewriting, revisions, the tightening and strengthening. I truly can’t wait to hear all the wonderful, crazy ideas my instructor may have. During these first five assignments, my story has taken on a completely different life, leaving my original outline obsolete. It’s been a crazy ride, for sure. What began as a 50,000 word novel is down to about 20,000. Which just so happens to be on target for middle graders. My characters have changed names, personalities, and the plot switched directions. The only thing that remains the same is the location. Around and around we go!

Roller Coaster of Emotions

Since I  last posted, Dad has been in and out of the hospital several times. His latest visit being  in November 2012 for ten days. He had two heart procedures, and a unit of blood. This took its toll on him and he is now considered home bound with constant oxygen. His strength is enough where I can still take care of him, so I stay at his house most of the time. When you are going down one of those steep hills, at a million miles per hour, do you laugh or cry? I always laugh, sometimes I laugh until I cry, sometimes until I pee…I know TMI, sorry.

Boomerang Roller Coaster (over 47 of these around)

One day, I talked to a friend who had been in my shoes, more than once, caring for her ill parents. She told me stories about how she had to repeat herself and nag about taking medications, showers, and brushing teeth, then she said, “You know that old worldly phrase, ‘Once an adult, twice a child’ it’s true.” I found myself nodding like an out of control bobble head. So many silly things. Guess what happens, the minute I get on the phone? My reply, “I just asked if you had to go?” And we can’t forget the wonderful invention of senior bibs, thank you.

House of Horrors

I have acquired some wisdom about aging, that’s for sure. I had no idea people could get wrinkles in some very unusual places, normally not associated with wrinkles. Huh hum, Now I have an idea! I won’t take you in that house of horrors. You can thank me later. It’s way to scary! But I will bring you into this one . . .

I have found family secrets . . . Like, I never knew Dad wanted to be in show business, but he is in it now…showing all of his business, all the time! His performances have caused dangerous jaw dropping and probably a few asthma attacks from gasping.  His audiences are from all walks in life. There’s the neighbors who gather outside, nurses, therapists and myself. Fortunately,  his show business days have come to an end. It wasn’t an easy task after six and half decades, but I finally talked him out of his way-to large Dickie Work Pants and got him into some flannel Pj pants . . . with a draw string. So much easier and no more gasping! Well, at least for the moment.

So to end our ride for today, I’ll leave you with my favorite quote about courage:

Courage doesn’t always roar.
Sometimes courage is the quiet voice
at the end of the day saying,
“I will try again tomorrow.”
– Mary Anne Radmacher

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

